Press Release


Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker P.E., P.S. Delivers 3000 Flashing Bike Reflectors to Safety Schools Across the County

May 31, 2024 - Summit County, OH

Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., has announced the delivery of 3000 flashing bike reflectors to Safety Town programs across Summit County this week. The initiative is part of the Engineer’s Office’s commitment to supporting road safety education for children in the community.

The municipalities benefiting from this distribution include Akron, Barberton, Cuyahoga Falls, Copley, Coventry, Fairlawn, Green, Munroe Falls, New Franklin, Nordonia, Revere, Stow, Tallmadge, and the Summit County Sheriff's Office.

Safety Town is a multi-day summer safety program designed for children entering kindergarten in the upcoming academic year. Participants receive instruction on a variety of crucial safety topics, including but not limited to, Animal Safety, Bicycle Safety, Electrical Safety, Fire Safety, Gun Safety, Litter Prevention, Railroad Safety, School Bus Safety, Stranger Danger, Tornado Safety, Utilizing 911, Water Safety, etc.

“We are so excited to support our local Safety programs by providing these flashing bike reflectors,” said Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., “Safety on and near our roads is always our Office’s main priority. Teaching and equipping our community’s children with the tools and knowledge they need during their learning years is paramount to creating safety habits that will continue into adulthood.”

As part of the locally led bike safety lessons, each child who participates in their local Safety Town program will receive a flashing bike reflector while supplies last.

For more information about the Safety Town programs please contact the Summit County Engineer’s Office by calling us at (330) 643-2850 or click more info below for a list of municipalities.


More Information

Safety Town Reflector