Press Release


Summit County Engineer's Office Announces 8 Miniature Bridge Building Scholarship Winners

Jul 2, 2024 - Summit County, OH

Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., is delighted to announce this year’s 2024 Miniature Bridge Building Competition (MBBC) scholarship winners. This year, eight talented high school students have been awarded scholarships after having participated in this year’s MBBC competition, maintained a minimum average GPA of 3.0, been actively involved in extracurricular activities, and been full-time undergraduate students enrolled in a College/University with an EAC/ABET accredited engineering program.

The Miniature Bridge Building Competition, which is held annually in February at the Summit County Fairgrounds, has been a cornerstone of youth community engagement for the past 23 years, providing hundreds of local young people with the exciting experience of designing and constructing bridges. This program serves as an excellent avenue for involving young people in the community and getting them involved in engineering.

"We are thrilled to host this competition and extend these scholarships to high school students throughout the community,” Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., "This past year we expanded the program by accommodating three teams per school.  This expansion allows more students to engage with engineering principles and gain hands-on experience in bridge building.”

2024’s MBBC competition included 32 teams from 14 different districts including Green, Four Cities, Revere, Copley, Norton, Coventry, Ellet, Hudson, St. Vincent St. Mary, STEM, Cuyahoga Falls, Tallmadge, Stow-Munroe Falls, and the Six District Compact.

Over the years, the MBBC program has awarded thousands of dollars in prizes at the competition and by awarding college scholarships to high school students interested in the engineering field. This year's winners have demonstrated exceptional creativity, teamwork, and engineering skills, and we are proud to support their educational pursuits.

The 2024 MBBC scholarship winners are:

Eian Bennett – University of Cincinnati – Major: Architectural Engineering
Evan Legnani
– Montana State University – Major: Mechanical Engineering
Bryan Beasley
– Lipscomb University – Major: Civil Engineering
Jason Pockl
– The Ohio State University – Major: Electrical & Computer Engineering
Nolan Campbell
– University of Cincinnati – Major: Mechanical Engineering
Rothschild – University of Mount Union – Major: Bio Medical Engineering
Aidan Zarges
– West Virginia University – Major: Aerospace Engineering
Benjamin McGeown
– The Ohio State University – Major: Mechanical Engineering

The Summit County Engineer Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., and his office extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the winners and participants of the 2024 Miniature Bridge Building Competition. We look forward to continuing our support for young engineers and helping them achieve their academic and career goals.

To ensure the continued success of the MBBC, we rely on the generosity of sponsors and donors. Sponsorships are our only means of funding for this competition, its awards, and the scholarships that are awarded to students in the community.

Your support is crucial in introducing the engineering and building trades to high school students in our community.

For more information about the MBBC program and future events, please click the  "More Information" button below.

More Information

MBBC Trophy/Logo