Home News Press Releases 2015 Miniature Bridge Building Competition Results!

2015 Miniature Bridge Building Competition Results!


Akron, Ohio– Alan Brubaker, P.E., P.S., Summit County Engineer, hosted the 15th Annual Miniature Bridge Building Competition on February 27, 2015 in the Student Union at the University of Akron. Thirty-four teams from nineteen area high schools built miniature bridges of their own designs, made out of balsa wood and according to strict guidelines. Springfield High School Team 1 came in first place by constructing a bridge that held 86.1 pounds.  Coventry High School Team 1 claimed the second spot and Western Reserve Academy Team 1 came in 3rd place. Portage Lakes Career Center Team 1 won the Aesthetics Award. 

The competition is designed to encourage high school students to implement scientific and mathematical principles they have learned in the classroom.  Along with Engineer Alan Brubaker, eighteen engineering consulting firms co-sponsor the annual event and offer scholarship opportunities for competition participants who choose a career in civil engineering.  AECOM, Arcadis, Burgess & Niple, CT Consultants, DLZ, E.L. Robinson, Environmental Design Group, Euthenics, Hatch Mott MacDonald, Jones-Stuckey Ltd, LJB, Inc, Mannick & Smith, M-E/IBI Group, Michael Baker Jr, Inc, ms consultants, Osborn Engineering, Richland Engineering, and Thrasher Engineering were the participating consulting firms this year.  Representatives from all eighteen firms were on board with displays, handouts and words of encouragement to help bridge the gap from applied bridge design to a real life professional career in the field. College students majoring in civil engineering at The University of Akron and professional engineers from the Summit County Engineer’s Office were also busy circulating among the students to cheer them on while teams competed to build the winning bridge.

After about three hours of construction, the bridges were brought up on stage to be load tested until their ultimate demise. Bridge after bridge broke under the increased weight hanging from the center of the bridges. The winning team members from Springfield High School  are Brad Cain, James Williams, and Ty Bailey. They were rewarded with a trophy and cash prizes for their impressive efforts. Second place winners from Coventry High School are Derrick Hansen, Samuel Neugebauer, and Jordan Conner.  Aesthetics Award winners from Portage Lakes Career Center are Jacob Mallory and Lukas Ampongan.

Participating high schools:

AkronEarly College


Cuyahoga Falls



Four Cities Educational Compact






Portage Lakes Career Center

Revere High School


Six District Engineering Academy

STEM High School

St. Vincent St. Mary

Twinsburg High School

Western Reserve Academy

Last Updated on Friday, 01 May 2015 09:56